In Pursuit of Platinum: The Shocking Secret of World War II by Vic Robbie

5/5

Voted #1 on Goodreads Best WWII Fiction and Biography; #5 on Thrillers You Must Read and #6 Best Spy Story 

In pursuit of platinumIt’s the secret they don’t want you to find out – buried in government archives and not to be revealed until 2045 

A political thriller that keeps you wondering right to the end – and beyond. 

As the Germans are about to invade Paris in 1940 American Ben Peters attempts to smuggle a fortune in platinum out of the city in the legendary Bullion Bentley. But the Bentley is carrying an even more valuable human cargo, a mysterious Frenchwoman escaping with her young son and a secret that could change the course of the Second World War. 

Alena and Ben are the targets of Hitler’s ruthless investigator, whose family will be executed if he fails. His orders are to silence Alena before she can reveal her secret; capture her young son and take him back to Berlin; and recover the Banque de France’s platinum. 

As they flee their hunter, they experience the stark and tragic realities of war and the raw emotions of two heroes living on the edge of fear. And not everything is as it seems. Who is Alena and what is her secret that could destroy everything Adolf Hitler and the Nazis stand for? 

‘An action adventure story in the tradition of Ken Follett and Robert Harris with the cutting edge of a Tom Clancy or W.E.B Griffin wartime thriller.’ 

WHAT READERS AND REVIEWERS ARE SAYING 

Enjoyed the book immensely. Hard to put it down. Plenty of action, romance and international intrigue. A well -deserved 5-star book! – Richard Small 

The opening pages grab and don’t let go! A great WWII novel – Bros Washburn 

Absolutely riveting. I read it end to end and way into the night. Look forward to more – Rabinder Sikand 

LOVED it. More please. Thanks! – John S Webb 

Unputdownable. An enthralling read. It would make a blockbuster film. It leaves the reader wondering right to the end – and afterwards – Jon Marcus 

Holds the reader’s attention from start to finish. – Sara from Essex 

Read it in two sittings. Gripped me from start to finish. Made an excellent Xmas present for my dad and my father-in-law who absolutely loved it too! Can’t wait for your next book – Nic Hindle 

Really enjoyed the style. Well-developed characters that truly came alive in my mind. The pace of the story was good and the pursuit across Europe felt knowledgeable and well constructed – Simon P Butler 

This builds and is gripping. It would make a good film. Enjoyable and well written. I would recommend this book – Fiona Lever 

Very enjoyable book. If you like reading Alan Furst and Phillip Kerr you will like this book. More than the other authors i mentioned he gets to the point of the story and it moves quickly – Richard A Fisk Jr 

Based on historical facts, I enjoyed reading this version of history. I recommend the book to any one who likes historical fiction – Jack M Cook 

Non-stop action with a thrilling ending. Can not wait for the next one! – R M Love 

For readers of WWII fiction I recommend this book. The story plot is very intresting and exciting. One of the best I have read. – Patricia A Wilson 

I have a lot of friends who are fans of this kind of novel – Aubrey Coletti

amazon_logo_transparent2

Scroll to Top